Access to the EU public procurement market in the context of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement

Law & Psychology
There is a newer version of this article available
Newer version Date Published
New version of a paper 1 01.10.2019 - 19:39
Discussion is closed on this version, please comment on the latest version above

Authors

First and Last Name Academic degree E-mail Affiliation
Vesta Malolitneva Ph.D. vestamalolitneva [at] gmail.com Institute of Economic and Legal Research of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine
Kyiv, Ukraine

I and my co-authors (if any) authorize the use of the Paper in accordance with the Creative Commons CC BY license

First publshed on this website: 27.06.2019 - 23:19
Abstract

The present paper is dedicated to the problems of gaining access to the EU public procurement market in the context of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement. Special consideration is given to the role of the WTO Government Procurement Agreement in ensuring the reciprocal access to public procurement markets of Ukraine and the EU. The author comes to the conclusion that despite the fact that market access within the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement is linked to the progress of legislative approximation, Ukraine has already gained an access to the EU public procurement market on the principles of non-discrimination and national treatment according to the WTO Government Procurement Agreement. However, the paper shows some limitations in the EU coverage schedule within the framework of the WTO Government Procurement Agreement, which shrink the opportunities for Ukrainian suppliers in comparison to the Association Agreement with the EU.

References

[1] Association Agreement between the European Union and its Member States, of the one part, and Ukraine, of the other part. Official Journal of the European Union. 2014, L 161, 3- 2137.
[2] Reforma derzhavnykh zakupivel Ukrainy [Public procurement reform in Ukraine] (Ministerstvo ekonomichnoho rozvytku i torhivli). Retrieved from http://www.me.gov.ua/Documents/Detail?lang=uk-UA&id=38c083f3-2571-466a-9....
[3] Public Procurement. European Commission. Retrieved from https://ec.europa.eu/growth/single-market/public-procurement_en.
[4] Decision № 1/2018 of the EU-Ukraine Association Committee in Trade Configuration of 14 May 2018 updating Annex XXI to Chapter 8 on Public Procurement of Title IV – Trade and Trade-related Matters of the Association Agreement and giving a favourable opinion regarding the comprehensive roadmap on public procurement. Official Journal of the European Union. 2018, L 175, 1-24.
[5] Anderson, R.D., Muller, A.C. (2017). The revised WTO Agreement on Government Procurement (GPA): key design features and significance for global trade and development. WTO Staff Working Paper. Retrieved from https://ideas.repec.org/p/zbw/wtowps/ersd201704.html.
[6] What is the GPA? Retrieved from https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/gproc_e/gp_gpa_e.htm.
[7] Integrated Government Procurement Market Access Information (e-GPA) Portal. Retrieved from https://e-gpa.wto.org/en/Annex/Details?Agreement=GPA113&Party=EuropeanUn... https://www.kmu.gov.ua/storage/app/media/ugoda-pro-asociaciyu/21_Annexes....
[8] TED. Retrieved from https://ted.europa.eu/TED/browse/browseByMap.do.

Full text

Comments

Олександр Березко
reviewer, secretary

Dear author! We kindly ask you to rewrite your references according to APA style required by our Forum - https://openreviewhub.org/lea/paper-formatting-requirements

Wed, 09/04/2019 - 11:24
vesta
researcher

Dear Mr. Berezko,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments. I am so sorry for the late reply, but unfortunately it was my mistake to find a letter at spam very late. I have rewritten my references. Hope I still will have an opportunity to proceed with further requirements.

Tue, 10/01/2019 - 19:39
Roman Radeyko
Roman Radeyko's picture
reviewer, secretary

Dear Vesta Malolitneva,

 

Your paper has been accepted!

We are glad to inform you that your conference paper has been accepted to participate in the 9th International Youth Science Forum «Litteris et Artibus» (November 21-23, 2019, Lviv, Ukraine)! Your paper will be published in digital proceedings with ISSN and DOI on the website https://openreviewhub.org/lea

Please, answer the following participation questions:

•   Are you going to take part in the conference in person?

•   Do you require official invitation letter from Lviv Polytechnic? (The invitation letter will be scanned and sent to your e-mail).

Presentation delivery regulations:

Conference participants will present their work on posters. Content and design of posters is arbitrary, but it should include the basic provisions of your paper: author names, title, main points, equations, figures etc. as well as exclude solid color, gradient or other costly to print backgrounds. The poster's upper part may include some information about your organization (title and logo, brief contact information).

Selected papers will be presented orally.

We also ask you to cover the conference fee till November 05, 2019:

  • International participants – 100 EUR;
  • Participants from Ukraine – 450 UAH.

Conference fees include online paper publication and organizational expenses. Cost of accommodation, meals and social program are not included. 

Please note, that invitation will be sent and proceedings will be implemented only after 100% payment fee.

If you need help with accommodation, please send a request to the Secretary. Invitations to lunch will be available for purchase at the registration desk.

The conference fee’s payment details:

Account details for payment of the participation fee from Ukraine participants (in UAH):

Одержувач: Первинна профспілкова організація студентів та аспірантів Національного університету «Львівська політехніка»

Банк: Акціонерний банк «Південний»

Код установи банку: 20953647

МФО: 328209

код за ЄДРПОУ (ІПН): 20846213

Номер рахунку: 26004010050168

Призначення платежу: П.І.Б, оргвнесок за участь у конференції «LEA-2019»

 

Account details for payment of the participation fee by international participants (in EURO):

Beneficiary: Lviv Polytechnic Alumni Association

IBAN: UA753805820000026002010325122

Bank of Beneficiary: INTERNATIONAL INVESTMENT BANK

Bank Address: 16, LAVRSKA STR., KYIV, UKRAINE

SWIFT code: IINBUAUK

Corraccount No.: 400 8866 75800

With Correspondent Bank: COMMERZBANK AG, Frankfurt am Main, Germany

SWIFT code: COBADEFF

 

The full Forum’s program will be published on the https://openreviewhub.org/lea before November 1, 2019.

Looking forward to receiving your poster! See you in Lviv soon!

 

Best regards,

Roman Radeiko,

The Conference Law&Psychology Secretary

Mon, 11/04/2019 - 15:36
vesta
researcher

Dear Mr. Radeyko,

Let me express my sincere gratitude for your letter and the invitation.

I am going to take part in the conference in person.

I would be grateful for the opportunity to recieve an official invitation letter from Lviv Polytechnic.

Could you be so kind to tell when (the deadline) I should send the presentation of the conference paper?

I have already made a payment for the participation fee.

Kind regards,

Vesta Malolitneva

Tue, 11/05/2019 - 14:10
vesta
researcher

Dear Mr. Radeyko,

Could you be so kind to indicate the detailed information about posters for the presentation. Should I print it by myself in advance? What is the deadline when I have to send the layout of the poster?  Could you be so kind to tell if there is an opportunity to send an example of such posters, because it is my first time taking part in the conference with posters. 

Thank you!

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Tue, 11/05/2019 - 15:38